Theta Xi Educational

Foundation of Pittsburgh

Established in 1955 with a broad purpose: United in Service to our Chapters, Colleges, Communities, and Country

The Elmer Kaelin Scholarhip

Click here for the Elmer Kaelin Scholarship Application
----- All applications must be submitted by Friday, March 23rd, 2012, no later than 5 p.m. -----

Elmer D. Kaelin, Pi 406, former leader and active member of the Theta Xi Educational Foundation of Pittsburgh, was instrumental in the success of the work of the Foundation and multiple college students. Known to countless collegians and alumni for his tireless efforts to support students in Western Pennsylvania and West Virginia, Brother Kaelin is remembered for his leadership and participation in all Foundation activities, and his particular commitment to build and support the American Fraternity Movement throughout Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. Brother Kaelin was honored on July 28, 1995 with membership in the Order of the Unicorn, the highest honor that may be conferred upon a member of Theta Xi National Fraternity.

Elmer retired in 1990 as the President of Potomac Edison Power, in Hagerstown, Md., a subsidiary of Allegheny Power. He received numerous awards for contributions he made throughout Western Maryland; including the PATE Award for Economic Excellence which he received for his efforts of initiating computers in the classroom in the 1980s. He also was appointed by Governor Donald Schaeffer to the Maryland State Board of Education and higher education.

In January, 2007, the Theta Xi Educational Foundation of Pittsburgh unanimously voted to establish the Elmer D. Kaelin Scholarship to honor this outstanding individual and humanitarian. This fund is maintained in the Theta Xi Educational Foundation of Pittsburgh and is made possible by the donations of members and friends who care about supporting the education of students.

Elmer Kaelin Scholarship Award Winners

Congratulations to the previous winners of the Elmer Kaelin Scholarship.

2007 - Kyle Hendrickson, Shepherd University
2008 - Paul DiTomasso, Slippery Rock University
2009 - Hideomi Masuda, West Virginia Wesleyan University
2010 - Matthew Glover, Shepherd University
2011 - Cody Depp, Clarion University
2013 - Justin McAtee, West Virginia Wesleyan

Loyal Donors

The Theta Xi Educational Foundation of Pittsburgh would like to thank the following individuals for their financial support of our students in the Allegheny Region. You truly exemplify our Motto, Juncti Juvant, United We Serve! ... See our loyal donors.



As college costs keep rising, and students face the challenge of fulfilling the financial demands of a 21st century education, there has never been a greater need to provide support for today’s Theta Xi undergraduates... Read More